Read & Drink

There is a cluster of websites I visit every day to find article to read. Usually this takes place over the course of a week. Back in the pre-children days, I would set aside a certain quantity of long-reads and save them. Sunday morning would come and I’d sit on the couch and catch up on what I’ve missed. This doesn’t happen anymore, for the aforementioned presence of, ahem, them.

Another reason I’ve shied away from visiting these websites is that I, like most people in American right now, are sick of election coverage. The election can’t come soon enough and hopefully when it ends, it ends and doesn’t take on another life of it’s own with claims of being rigged or recounts. This cycle just needs to be done.

By next week’s read & drink, we’ll have a new president. Amazing. I can’t imagine anything worse than being President of the United States. I’m pretty sure the outgoing president has never been saddened by the sight of movers taking their stuff home. It must be a tremendous weight lifted.

For read and drink, I’m going to do something a little different. I want to review a beer rather than just recommend one. I’ll never review a bad beer, not because there aren’t any out there, but it does no service to me or to any reader to say, “This is a beer I drank. It sucked and here’s why.” Instead, I’d like to write a review of a beer I really truly liked and maybe you’ll pick it up.

Read: Well, this is an easy one. I wrote for UPRoxx Sports about the Boston Celtics and their pursuit of the Cleveland Cavaliers, but also something deeper than that. They’re seeking to reach an expectation from fans and media, but are chasing the ghosts of 17 banners in the rafters at TD Garden. They’re also trying to dispel a popular opinion in the NBA. Read it.

Drink: Stone 14th Anniversary Emperial IPA, 8.9% — This is part of Stone’s 20th Anniversary Encore Series. This is not what you’d expect from a Stone IPA. There’s no lingering piney bitterness. It’s a more earthy IPA with no back end bitterness. It calls itself an English IPA and I get a little bit of that, but there’s less of that … umm … funk of a British beer. This is smooth, deceptively big at almost 9%. Definitely share the wealth and at $9.99, a steal.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

